Why Re-Esterified Triglyceride (rTG) Omega-3 Is the Smarter Choice
rTG (re-esterified triglyceride) omega-3 is a concentrated omega-3 in triglyceride form. It combines the high EPA+DHA concentration of ethyl ester (EE) concentrates with a triglyceride structure linked to better uptake than EE, especially without a fatty meal (Dyerberg et al., 2010). Pure Serving Triple Strength rTG Omega-3 delivers 450mg EPA + 300mg DHA per softgel — verified at 1,063mg EPA and 747mg DHA per 2-softgel serving by Intertek laboratory. Every batch tests below the limit of quantification for all four heavy metals.
Walk into any pharmacy or search fish oil supplements in India and you will find dozens of options. Most labels shout "1000mg Omega-3" or "Triple Strength Fish Oil." But here is what most brands hope you do not ask: what form is the omega-3 in?
The form determines how much EPA and DHA your body actually absorbs. Two supplements can both claim 1,000mg of fish oil per softgel yet deliver radically different amounts into your bloodstream. At Pure Serving, we chose the re-esterified triglyceride (rTG) form — a form with peer-reviewed evidence for both high concentration and better uptake than ethyl esters.
This article explains exactly why — with real lab numbers from our batch reports, not marketing copy.
EE vs rTG Omega-3: What the difference actually means
There are two commercially dominant forms of concentrated omega-3 fish oil: ethyl ester (EE) and re-esterified triglyceride (rTG). Understanding this single distinction is the most important thing any omega-3 buyer in India can know.
EPA and DHA bonded to ethanol, not glycerol — the usual form for high-strength concentrates.
Lower absorption when taken without a fatty meal.
Smaller rise in the omega-3 index than rTG over 6 months in a head-to-head trial (Neubronner et al., 2011).
Form is often not stated on Indian labels. Standard 30% fish oil is natural triglyceride; high-strength concentrates are usually EE.
Lower cost to manufacture than rTG.
Triglyceride structure — EPA and DHA bonded to glycerol, similar to how omega-3 exists in fatty fish.
Better uptake than EE — Dyerberg et al. (2010)* found higher relative bioavailability for rTG than for EE in 72 volunteers who took the capsules with meals. *Prostaglandins Leukot Essent Fatty Acids. 2010 Sep;83(3):137-41.
Purified and tested — heavy metals checked on every batch. Peroxide value in our Jan 2026 batch: BLQ (below limit of quantification).
High EPA+DHA concentration per softgel — batch-verified: EPA 41.68 g/100g + DHA 28.29 g/100g (Eurofins NABL, AR-258-2025-20041989).
750 mg EPA+DHA per softgel in triglyceride form — about 2.5x a standard 1000 mg fish oil softgel.
How re-esterified triglyceride omega-3 is produced
Understanding the rTG manufacturing process explains why it costs more. The steps below follow our oil supplier's production flowchart for this grade (Doc ID: QCFL-02, Rev 01, certified by the supplier's Lead QC, dated 10/04/2025).
Fish Oil
esterification
Stripping
Filtration
rTG Omega-3
The result is a re-esterified triglyceride fish oil that keeps the high EPA+DHA concentration of the EE starting material in a triglyceride form, similar to the structure found in fish.
Our lab numbers — batch TG-B04/JAN26
These are independently verified results from our most recent batch — not internal numbers, not marketing claims. Analysis conducted by Intertek (report IFSH-260224004) and Eurofins NABL (report AR-258-2025-20041989), two of the most credible testing bodies available for nutraceutical analysis in India.
BLQ
BLQ
BLQ
BLQ
BLQ = Below Limit of Quantification. All four heavy metals in batch TG-B04/JAN26 — tested by Intertek India (NABL-accredited, TC-5160) — fell below the instrument's quantification threshold. This is what a genuinely clean marine-sourced omega-3 supplement looks like.
Full purity profile — batch TG-B04/JAN26
| Parameter | Specification | Our result | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| EPA (GC method) | ≥36% minimum | 36.92% | ✓ Pass |
| DHA (GC method) | ≥24% minimum | 25.40% | ✓ Pass |
| EPA — Eurofins NABL (TG form) | — | 41.68 g/100g | ✓ NABL |
| DHA — Eurofins NABL (TG form) | — | 28.29 g/100g | ✓ NABL |
| Peroxide value (freshness) | ≤5 meq/kg (GOED) | BLQ / 4.2 (COA) | ✓ Pass |
| Acid value | ≤3 mg KOH/g | 1.47 | ✓ Pass |
| Free fatty acids | ≤1.5% | 0.735% | ✓ Pass |
| Mercury | ≤0.1 ppm | BLQ | ✓ Pass |
| Lead | ≤0.5 ppm | BLQ | ✓ Pass |
| Arsenic | ≤1.1 ppm | BLQ | ✓ Pass |
| Cadmium | ≤0.1 ppm | BLQ | ✓ Pass |
| Total Plate Count | <10,000 cfu/g | <10 cfu/g | ✓ Pass |
| Salmonella | Absent / 25g | Absent | ✓ Pass |
| E. coli | Absent / 10g | Absent | ✓ Pass |
Trustified: independently verified and passed
Trustified is India's independent supplement certification programme — they purchase products off the shelf, send them to accredited labs, and publish the results publicly. Pure Serving Omega-3 is listed on their verified database with a confirmed Pass status.
Certified
Pure Serving Omega-3 — Testing Status: Passed
Independently tested by Eurofins. EPA found: 954.25mg (label claim: 900mg). DHA found: 634mg (label claim: 600mg). Rancidity (Kreis test): Negative. All four heavy metals below detection limits.
This is what independent omega-3 purity testing should look like: a third party, with no commercial relationship to the brand, buying the product and publishing the numbers publicly. Our product exceeded its label claims on both EPA and DHA in independent testing.
Watch: Pure Serving Omega-3 Blind Tested by Trustified
What rTG omega-3 is studied for
The EPA and DHA in rTG omega-3 have been extensively studied across several health areas. The benefit cards below reflect published research on EPA and DHA — not claims specific to this product. The recommended serving is 2 softgels daily (900mg EPA + 600mg DHA).
Omega-3 for cardiovascular health
EPA and DHA are associated with the maintenance of normal triglyceride levels and support of normal cardiovascular function. The AHA references at least 1,000mg EPA+DHA daily as a general cardiovascular wellness guideline.
Omega-3 for cognitive function
DHA is the main omega-3 fat in the brain and contributes to the maintenance of normal brain function (from 250mg DHA a day, EU-authorised wording).
Omega-3 for joint health
EPA and DHA are precursors to lipid mediators involved in the body's normal inflammatory response. Evidence for joint comfort is mixed, so we make no joint claim for this product; speak to your doctor if you have a joint condition.
DHA for prenatal nutrition
DHA is a key structural nutrient for foetal brain and retinal development. ICMR references 200–300mg DHA daily during pregnancy. Our batch shows all four heavy metals at BLQ — confirming a clean sourcing profile.
DHA and normal vision
DHA contributes to the maintenance of normal vision (from 250mg DHA a day). For dry eye specifically, a large 12-month trial (DREAM, NEJM 2018) found no benefit over placebo, so we make no dry-eye claim.
Omega-3 for skin health
Omega-3 fatty acids are part of the skin's lipid barrier. Research on skin is still emerging, so we make no skin claim for this product.
Dosing reference — EPA+DHA daily intake
Amounts below are research-based general wellness references, not prescriptions. Pure Serving rTG Omega-3 delivers 450mg EPA + 300mg DHA per softgel (750mg total EPA+DHA).
| Health goal | EPA+DHA/day | Pure Serving softgels |
|---|---|---|
| General health maintenance | 500–1,000mg | 2 softgels (1 serving) |
| Cardiovascular wellness (AHA ref.) | 1,000mg | 2 softgels (1 serving) |
| Triglyceride level maintenance† | 2,000–4,000mg | Only under medical supervision† |
| Brain health / cognitive support | 1,000–2,000mg | 2 softgels (1 serving) |
| Prenatal DHA (ICMR reference) | 200–300mg DHA | 1 softgel* |
† Do not exceed the recommended daily usage of 2 softgels unless advised by your doctor. * Always consult your gynaecologist before supplementing during pregnancy. These are general wellness references, not medical prescriptions.
Pure Serving Triple Strength rTG Omega-3 — what's in every softgel
Each 1,250mg softgel is lemon-flavoured to help reduce fishy aftertaste and burps, and the peroxide value (freshness) is tested on every batch. A re-esterified triglyceride omega-3 that has passed independent testing.
The inclusion of Vitamin D3, K2-MK7, and Vitamin E alongside omega-3 is deliberate. D3 and K2-MK7 work synergistically — Vitamin D contributes to the normal absorption of calcium, and vitamin K contributes to the maintenance of normal bones. Vitamin E acts as an antioxidant that also protects the omega-3 oil from oxidation within the softgel itself.
How to read your omega-3 label in India
Most omega-3 supplement listings in India do not clearly disclose the molecular form. Here is what to look for when comparing fish oil supplements:
Red flags
"1000mg fish oil" with no EPA/DHA breakdown — this can mean as little as 300mg total EPA+DHA. No COA available. Form not disclosed. No FSSAI number. Implausibly low price — quality rTG sourcing, molecular distillation, and accredited lab testing all cost money.
Green flags
Label clearly states "rTG" or "re-esterified triglyceride." EPA+DHA per softgel declared (not just total fish oil mg). COA available from an NABL or internationally accredited lab. FSSAI registration number on the label. Independent third-party certification. Peroxide value and TOTOX listed or available on request.
"The total fish oil mg is not what matters. What matters is the mg of EPA + DHA per softgel — and the molecular form those fatty acids are in."
— Pure Serving Science TeamWhen comparing omega-3 fish oil supplements in India, use the COA as your primary filter. Any brand that cannot provide a COA from an accredited lab — or that sells at implausibly low prices — is unlikely to be delivering what the label claims. Pure Serving's COA is publicly linked and batch-specific.
Frequently asked questions
Experience verified rTG Omega-3
Lab-tested. Trustified-passed. Every batch lab tested. Free standard delivery on pureserving.in.
Shop Pure Serving rTG Omega-3 → View Trustified report ↗NOT FOR MEDICINAL USE. This product is a Health Supplement / Nutraceutical registered under FSSAI nutraceutical regulations. It is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease or medical condition. Benefits described in this article are based on published scientific research on EPA and DHA — individual results may vary. Information regarding dosing is for general wellness reference only and does not constitute medical advice. Consult a qualified physician or registered dietitian before use, particularly if you are pregnant, nursing, taking prescription medication, or have a pre-existing medical condition. Not to exceed recommended daily usage. Store out of reach of children.
Lab data cited refers to batch TG-B04/JAN26. Intertek report IFSH-260224004. Eurofins NABL report AR-258-2025-20041989. Trustified certification report available at trustified.in. Batch COAs are published at pureserving.in/pages/verify-your-batch.